The department of surgery in the school of medicine, General Surgery and its branches will be taught in third, fourth, fifth and sixth stage.

Branches(units) includes:Anesthesia and ICU, General surgery, Urology, Orthopedics, Cardiothoracic surgery, Neurosurgery, Pediatric Surgery,ENT, Ophthalmology, Radiology, Oncology, Plastic surgery.The teaching will be through lectures in the school of medicine and practical session in the teaching hospital. There will both theory and practical exams at the end of each course.The teaching subjects will be as following;- Third stage; General surgery principles, fluid & electrolytes, burn, plastic surgery and surgical infections.

- Fourth stage; Body system surgery (gastrointestinal, endocrine, hepatobiliary, thoracic, head & neck, organ transplantation, onco-surgery, pediatric surgery, bariatric Surgery and war surgery). All the above will be given in theory lectures and practiced in thirty sessions of practical training in the hospital each session is three hours

- Fifth stage; Anesthesia and ICU, Orthopedics, Neurosurgery and Cardiothoracic surgery, Radiology, Urology, ENT and Ophthalmology.

- Sixth stage; There will be 3 months course of intensive clinical session starting from 8:00 to 13:00, in addition to participating in scientific activities and filling a requirements determined from the department, following that there will be an short station clinical examination.

Academic Staff: